Feminist-Style Freedom

Frank J. at IMAO points out the absurdity of feminists and abortion groups protesting when pharmacies decline to carry certain products.

Trolls have signed me up for all sorts of weird stuff, so today I got an e-mail from NARAL Pro-Choice America (it used to be just called “NARAL” and that acronym actually stood for something… that was until they decided the word “abortion” was bad PR). Here’s the beginning of the letter (which is as far as I read):

Dear Frank,

I wrote to you recently to share my story about my contraceptive emergency.

Basically, it went like this – my boyfriend and I headed to our local Wal-Mart in Springfield, Ohio, to purchase Plan B® after our condom broke. But rather than sell us contraception that they had in the store, the pharmacist laughed in my face!

So, I called NARAL Pro-Choice America and NARAL Pro-Choice Ohio!

Here’s a better idea: Call Walgreens.

We had a similar situation here in Olympia last year. Two local Thriftway stores owned by the Stormans family decided not to carry Plan B. For more than a week, angry feminists picketed outside the stores. They had to picket on both sides of the parking lot since it was between two one-way roads.

It was absolutely ridiculous. I remember one old lady with a sign that said “Stop the war against women”. I saw women with their young daughters. What kind of message is that to send to the children of America? If a business does not do what you want it to do then you should picket, protest, and legislate until your dreams come true?

As Frank J. so eloquently states, there are other pharmacies. Just like with any other product, you have the option of taking your business elsewhere. That is what freedom is all about.

Leave a Reply

